NewsAPWB appoints new exco members

APWB appoints new exco members


- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img

The Association of Professional Women Bankers (APWB), the female wing of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN), has officially announced the appointment of its new Executive Council members, dated September 25, 2021.

According to the Association’s press statement, “Since its inception in 1983, APWB has been at the forefront of equipping and empowering female bankers with relevant tools that support career advancement and impact, contributing to the growth of the banking industry and corporate Nigeria, as well as celebrating female bankers.

“Members of APWB have access to numerous benefits, which include capacity-building initiatives, opportunities for valuable partnerships and collaborations, opportunities to network with bankers and other professionals. Similarly, there are opportunities to gain valuable leadership skills from selected mentors.”

The statement added that “to continue to drive the Association’s vision and mission, 14 leading female bankers were selected from across different banks in Nigeria. They include: Mrs. Funke Feyisitan Ladimeji, Executive Director, Coronation Merchant Bank as Chairperson; Mrs. Olukemi Ibiwoye, FCIB, Fmr Asst. General Manager, Access Bank as First Vice-Chairperson; Mrs. Adebimpe Ogunleye, MCIB, Pioneer Managing Director of Bowen Microfinance Bank as Second Vice-Chairperson; Mrs. Aina Amah, FCIB, Auditor, Association of Chief Audit Executives of Bank in Nigeria as Financial Secretary; Ms. Chinwe Egwim, Chief Economist, Coronation Merchant Bank as Treasurer; and Mrs. Christiana Atanbasi, HCIB, Fmr. Regional Head of Electronic Banking, Ecobank as Auditor.

Others are Mrs. Irene Netimah, Company Secretary, FirstBank Nigeria Limited as Ex-Officio; Mrs. Kehinde Olomojobi, ACIB, Fmr. Bank Treasurer, Sterling Bank as Ex-Officio; Ms. Kikanwa Akpenyi, FCIB, Group Head, Internal Control, Heritage Bank as Social/Publicity Secretary; Mrs. Rafiat Onitiri, ACIB, Fmr Head Commercial Banking, Polaris Bank, as Honorary Secretary; Ms. Opeyemi Oduwole, Country Head of Private Banking for Sterling Bank as 1st Ass. Secretary; Ms. Funmi Joseph, ACIB, Fmr. Relationship Manager, Ecobank Nig. as 2nd Asst. Secretary; Mrs. Olamide Adeosun, Group Chief Financial Officer at FBNQuest, as Ass. Financial Secretary; as well as Mrs. Oluyemisi Olajide, HCIB, Head of Local Corporates and Value Chain Business, Commercial Banking, Eco-Bank as Ex-Officio.”

Speaking on the newly-appointed Exco, Mrs. Funke Ladimeji, APWB’s Chairperson, expressed her excitement about the new phase and promised that “the new EXCO will focus on empowering and positioning Women Bankers for enhanced professional visibility, enhanced impact, and enhanced connectedness. They will do this through various capacity-building initiatives, a wide network of partners, and through recognition and celebration of female achievements, while promoting a culture of integrity and professionalism in the Banking Industry.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

Man sentenced to life imprisonment after impregnating 15-year-old daughter

Ekpo Lawrence, 42, was convicted and sentenced to life in prison by the Lagos State Domestic Violence and Sexual...

Price of oil surpasses $90 per barrel, first time since 2014

Brent oil exceeded $90 per barrel on Wednesday, reaching its highest level in more than seven years, roiled by...

Catholic priests declare homosexuality practice, advocate against discrimination

OpenLife Nigeria reports that more than 100 Catholic church officials in Germany came out as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and...

Unknown gunmen abduct Bayelsa State Commissioner for trade

The Bayelsa State Commissioner for Trade and Commerce, Otokito Federal Oparmiola, has been kidnapped by unknown gunmen. Gunmen allegedly kidnapped...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img

Oyo set to re-introduce school governing boards

The last administration headed by Senator Abiola Ajimobi introduced school governing boards in all public secondary schools in the...

Oritsedere Otubu takes over as chairman of EKEDC board of directors

Oritsedere Otubu has been named chairman of the board of directors of the Eko Electricity Distribution Company (EKEDC). The declaration...

Must read

Man sentenced to life imprisonment after impregnating 15-year-old daughter

Ekpo Lawrence, 42, was convicted and sentenced to life...

Price of oil surpasses $90 per barrel, first time since 2014

Brent oil exceeded $90 per barrel on Wednesday, reaching...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you